A Committee Inaugurated To Advise On Reopening Of Schools By 21st September 2020. Education Minister


A Committee Inaugurated To Advise On Reopening Of Schools By 21st September 2020. Minister Of Education

Minister of Education Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh on Wednesday inaugurated a 10-member committee to outline safety precautions for the reopening of schools in the pre-tertiary subsector.

Chaired by former Education Minister, Professor Dominic Fobih, members of the committee were made up of representatives from the Ghana Education Service, UNICEF, private school sector, parents, and the Ministry of Education.

In a statement signed by the Press Secretary to the Minister, Rodney Nkrumah-Boateng, the initiative is said to be in line with a directive from President Akufo-Addo.

In his latest address to the nation, the President announced that all continuing students of the University of Cape Coast (UCC), University of Health and Allied Sciences (UHAS), technical universities and some other colleges are to return to school on August 24, 2020, to complete the academic year.

This according to him was due to the fact that while the online learning programme has helped students in other facilities to complete, final year students from the listed schools were yet to write their exit exams.

President Akufo-Addo also said the debate on when schools across the country will reopen calls for more deliberations and subsequently tasked the Ministry of Education to continue to engage “the Ghana Education Service (GES) and all relevant stakeholders to conclude discussions on the modalities surrounding the reopening of our pre-tertiary schools.”

Thus, the members of the committee are expected to submit their recommendations to the Education Minister by September 21, for onward submission to the President.

From The Ministry of Education 

A Committee Inaugurated To Advise On Reopening Of Schools By 21st September 2020. Education Minister
A Committee Inaugurated To Advise On Reopening Of Schools By 21st September 2020. Education Minister


The Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, has inaugurated a 10-member committee in Accra to deliberate and advise on modalities for the re-opening of schools in the pre-tertiary subsector for the approval of the President.
This follows the address to the nation by President Akufo-Addo on Sunday 16th August 2020, which included government’s intentions to consider the reopening of schools following the shutdown in March 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic breakout.

The committee is chaired by Prof. Dominic Fobih, a former Minister of Education and currently the chairman of the GETFund Board of Trustees.

The other members are;
1. Mr. Michael Nsowah ~ Chair, GES Council

  1. Prof. Kwasi Opoku Amankwa ~ Director-General, GES
  2. Mr. Anthony Boateng ~ Deputy Director-General (M & S), GES
  3. Dr. Kwabena Tandoh ~ Deputy Director-General (Q & A), GES
  4. Mrs. Kate Appiah-Pinkrah ~ Director, Pre-Tertiary, MoE
  5. Mr. Madeez Adamu Issah ~ Rep, UNICEF
  6. Mr. I. K Mensah ~ Rep, Private Schools
  7. Nana Kwasi Amoako ~ P.T.A Chair, Accra Girls SHS
  8. Mrs. Patty Assan ~ Director, Schools and Instructions

The committee is expected to report to the Minister on Monday 21st September 2020 with its recommendations.


I have been nominated In this years National Students’ Awards.

  1. To vote for me visit
  2. Enter The Number of Votes You Want To Vote From Where the 1 is
  3. Click on Proceed To Payment.
  4. Enter Your details From the pop-up menu.
  5. Enter your code and vote.
  6. Each vote is 0.50pesewas

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 month ago

… [Trackback]

[…] Find More on that Topic: manuelnewsgh.com/a-committee-inaugurated-to-advise-on-reopening-of-schools-by-21st-september-2020-education-minister/ […]


… [Trackback]

[…] Find More here to that Topic: manuelnewsgh.com/a-committee-inaugurated-to-advise-on-reopening-of-schools-by-21st-september-2020-education-minister/ […]